NEW Byron Kakulas Medal: Recognising transformative innovation in health outcomes

Are you a researcher or have worked with a researcher who has involved people with lived experience in their project and is worthy of recognition? Please consider and encourage a nomination for the newly launched Byron Kakulas Medal. We have been involved in the development of this award, and are on the Committee to adjudicate nominations.

Nominations are now being sought for a new award, the Byron Kakulas Medal. The purpose of the Medal is to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of an individual (or small team) in Western Australia, who has had a transformational impact on the health and wellbeing of Western Australians. The Medal seeks to celebrate transformative innovation in health outcomes whether it be through medical research, clinical practice, health policy, service delivery, or community outreach.

There is no restriction on the type of individual (or team) who can be nominated. They can be a researcher, clinician, policymaker, health administrator, leader of a health NGO, leader of a community organisation, philanthropist, business leader, media figure or indeed anyone who has had a positive impact in health and medical research in Western Australia. We strongly encourage nominations from across the State.

The Medal will be awarded annually with the inaugural 2022 Medal to be presented at a public event later in the year.

The award will be adjudicated by an independent Committee comprising Professor John Finlay-Jones (Chair), former Governor of Western Australia, Kerry Sanderson AC CVO, former Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Professor Lyn Beazley AO, Chief Health Officer of Western Australia, Dr Andy Robertson, Professor Lindy Fitzgerald (Curtin University), Debra Langridge (Head, Consumer and Community Involvement, Western Australian Health Translation Network) and Professor Steve Wilton AO, Director of the Perron Institute.

Nominations are sought from individuals or organisations from across Western Australia. The individual or small team (up to 5 members) nominated must be Australian nationals or permanent residents based in Western Australia.

Please nominate online at Medal – Perron Institute addressing the criteria therein.

The deadline for nominations is midnight Monday August 8th 2022.

The Medal is sponsored by the Perron Institute in recognition of the contribution of the Institute’s Founding Director, Emeritus Professor Byron Kakulas AO and to mark the Perron Institute’s 40th anniversary.